Public holidays

The majority of establishments in Sweden are closed on Midsummer’s Day, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day and New Year’s Day. This applies to shops, banks, museums and some restaurants.
 
For the rest of the year Sunday hours apply to public holidays. A few restaurants are closed on Sundays and public holidays. Museums have their busiest days on public holidays – with the above exceptions.

Public holidays 2016

1 Jan - Fri - New Year's Day

6 Jan - Wed - Epiphany

25 Mar - Fri - Good Friday

27 Mar - Sun - Easter Sunday

28 Mar - Mon - Easter Monday

1 May - Sun - International Workers' Day

5 May - Thu - Ascension Day

15 May - Sun - Whit Sunday

6 Jun - Mon - National Day

25 Jun - Sat - Midsummer Day

5 Nov - Sat - All Saints' Day

25 Dec - Sun - Christmas Day

26 Dec - Mon - Boxing Day

Information via http://publicholidays.eu/sweden/

Advertising:

  • Midsummer in Sweden

Midsummer in Sweden

A part of the official gateway to Sweden